A List of Popular Iyanla Vanzant Books

I can promise you that if you take this journey with me, you will learn a great deal about yourself, and that is always a good thing. I can also promise that if you hang in there with me, you will begin to see yourself, your life, your every experience, and every person in your life from a new point of view.

―Iyanla Vanzant in ‘Forgiveness Kit’

Well-known as an inspirational speaker, a spiritual teacher, and television personality, Iyanla Vanzant has to her credit a host of books. Vanzant, who has been a student of Medgar Evers College and Virginia Union University, is blessed with the ability to touch people’s hearts through her words. Apart from being a dynamic speaker, she is a profound writer and a dynamic spiritual guide.

Even though Vanzant comes across as a woman of passion, vision, and purpose, she remains grounded and connected to the people she serves. She is also a Yoruba priestess and an ordained New Thought minister who promoted the ideas of Infinite Intelligence. In all her books, Vanzant offers her readers, ancient yet contemporary wisdom and common sense, leading them in and out of their dark experiences. Her books include:

Popular Books By Iyanla Vanzant

One Day My Soul Just Opened Up

40 Days And 40 Nights Toward Spiritual Strength And Personal Growth

Published January 5th 1998 by Touchstone (first published January 1st 1998)

In the Meantime

Finding Yourself and the Love You Want

Published September 14th 1999 by Touchstone (first published 1998)

Yesterday, I Cried

Celebrating the Lessons of Living and Loving

Published March 2nd 2000 by Simon & Schuster (first published 1998)

Acts of Faith 1998 Calendar

Daily Meditations for People of Color

Published by Simon & Schuster in 1997

Faith in the Valley

Lessons for Women on the Journey to Peace

Published May 8th 1996 by Touchstone


A Black Woman’s Healing in Progress

Published May 1st 1996 by Writers and Readers (first published November 1st 1995)

The Big Book of Faith

Published November 1st 1997 by Fireside

The Spirit of a Man

A Vision of Transformation for Black Men and the Women Who Love Them

Published May 9th 1997 by HarperOne (first published 1996)

Don’t Give It Away!

A Workbook of Self-Awareness and Self-Affirmations for Young Women (with Almasi Wilcots)

Published July 6th 1999 by Touchstone

Acts of Faith

Meditations for People of Color

Published November 12th 1993 by Touchstone

The Value in the Valley

A Black Woman’s Guide Through Life’s Dilemmas.

Published November 7th 1996 by Touchstone (first published 1995)

Living Through the Meantime

Learning to Break the Patterns of the Past and Begin the Healing Process

Published August 14th 2001 by Touchstone (first published 2001)

Until Today!

Daily Devotions for Spiritual Growth and Peace of Mind

Published August 14th 2001 by Touchstone (first published 2000)

Tips for Daily Living

A 50-Card Deck

Published by Hay House Incorporated, May 01 2003

Every Day I Pray

Prayers for Awakening to the Grace of Inner Communion

Published November 4th 2002 by Touchstone (first published September 25th 2001)

Up From Here

Reclaiming the Male Spirit: A Guide to Transforming Emotions Into Power and Freedom

Published June 3rd 2003 by HarperOne (first published April 30th 2002)

Tapping the Power Within

A Path to Self-Empowerment for Women

Published May 1st 1992 by Writers & Readers Publishing

A Woman Knows Things

Published by Hay House UK, Limited in 2010

Peace from Broken Pieces

How to Get through What You’re Going Through

Published (first published September 15th 2010)

Lessons Waiting to be Learned

Interiors: A Black Woman’s Healing in Progress

A thought-provoking book, fit to be called a memoir, Interiors: A Black Woman’s Healing in Progress, is Vanzant’s story of suffering and recovery. The book is a testimony of the author’s strength and willingness to break through her suffering and mistakes. It makes the reader delve deeper into oneself, and confront the thoughts that would otherwise be considered disturbing.

Faith in the Valley: Lessons for Women on the Journey to Peace

Faith in the Valley is designed to help you find your way when you need it the most. It is akin to a guiding light that aids one to find faith in oneself, especially when one is clueless and confused. Vanzant promotes the need for a healthy foundation for living in the modern world. The book speaks about overcoming imbalances that often plague us, to find the way through the valley of life.

Yesterday, I Cried

“After all I had experienced and learned, I had to revisit my own past, which was filled with bitter tears, in order to move into the future.” ―Iyanla Vanzant in Yesterday, I Cried

Dwelling on the past to draw out lessons is what Iyanla Vanzant does through this book. Like her other books, this book shows how hardships can be transformed into lessons that aid in spiritual growth, healing, and love.

Tapping the Power Within: Introduction to Self-Empowerment for Black Women

Tapping the Power Within  is a means to resurrect faith in oneself. You can call on the book as an instructional manual to seek strength from yourself. The book is centered around techniques that help achieve spiritual growth by tapping the immense power stored within an individual.

Peace from Broken Pieces

Peace from Broken Pieces  is an account of the author’s life in the last decade. It speaks about the spiritual journey and the lessons learned in the process. It covers a path of discovery, understanding, and acceptance of reality.

Her books are a medium to open your life and begin a journey of healing and well-being. Her words are more of an inspiration that give you the desired spiritual push.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *