A Complete List of Horus Heresy Books in Chronological Order

Alternate Universe

The Horus Heresy is a dark, far future, sci-fi war saga that takes place during the Horus Heresy, a cornerstone event of the dystopian science fantasy Warhammer 40,000 universe.

The Warhammer 40,000 is a tabletop miniature war game that is produced by Games Workshop and is set in a dystopian sci-fi universe. The Horus Heresy is a cornerstone even in a fictional universe that provides the background story for the Warhammer 40,000. It is a devastating galaxy-spanning civil war that engulfs the nascent galactic empire of the Imperium of Man early in the 31st millennium of the universe timeline; the war is a major cause of the science fantasy universe’s dystopian environment.

The books first came into publication in 2006 by Black Library, and are written by various authors, and was started as a campaign setting for the Warhammer 40,000 miniature wargame until it became a full-fledged line of novels that continue to tell the story set in different time periods before the 41st century, before and after the fictional civil war. We bring you the reading order of the Horus Heresy books, based on the year published, along with a list of the novellas and short stories, and the audio dramas.


2006 Horus Rising Dan Abnett
2006 False Gods Graham McNeill
2006 Galaxy in Flames Ben Counter
2007 The Flight of the Eisenstein James Swallow
2007 Fulgrim Graham McNeill
2007 Descent of Angels Mitchel Scanlon
2008 Legion Dan Abnett
2008 Battle for the Abyss Ben Counter
2008 Mechanicum Graham McNeill
2009 Tales of Heresy Lindsey Priestley and Nick Kyme
2009 Fallen Angels Mike Lee
2010 A Thousand Sons Graham McNeill
2010 Nemesis James Swallow
2010 The First Heretic Aaron Dembski-Bowden
2011 Prospero Burns Dan Abnett
2011 Age of Darkness Christian Dunn
2011 The Outcast Dead Graham McNeill
2012 Deliverance Lost Gav Thorpe
2012 Know No Fear Dan Abnett
2012 The Primarchs Christian Dunn
2012 Fear to Tread James Swallow
2012 Shadows of Treachery Christian Dunn and Nick Kyme
2013 Angel Exterminatus Graham McNeill
2013 Betrayer Aaron Dembski-Bowden
2013 Mark of Calth Laurie Goulding
2013 Vulkan Lives Nick Kyme
2013 The Unremembered Empire Dan Abnett
2013 The Imperial Truth Laurie Goulding
2014 Scars Chris Wraight
2014 Vengeful Spirit Graham McNeill
2014 The Damnation of Pythos David Annandale
2014 Legacies of Betrayal Various Authors


2007 The Horus Heresy Chapbook Dan Abnett and Graham McNeill
2011 Promethean Sun Nick Kyme
2011 Aurelian Aaron Dembski-Bowden
2011 Rebirth Gav Thorpe
2012 Army of One Rob Sanders
2012 Kryptos Graham McNeill
2012 Distant Echoes of Old Night Rob Sanders
2012 Brotherhood of the Storm Chris Wraight
2012 Lost Sons James Swallow
2012 Death of a Silversmith Graham McNeill
2012 The Divine Word Gav Thorpe
2013 The Gates of Terra Nick Kyme
2013 Corax: Soulforge Gav Thorpe
2013 Scorched Earth Nick Kyme
2013 Tallarn: Executioner John French
2013 Serpent John French
2013 Luna Mendax Graham McNeill
2013 Riven John French
2013 Bjorn: Lone Wolf Chris Wraight
2014 The Wolf of Ash and Fire Graham McNeill
2014 Ravenlord Gav Thorpe
2014 Prince of Crows Aaron Dembski-Bowden
2014 The Crimson Fist John French
2014 Heart of the Conqueror Aaron Dembski-Bowden
2014 The Purge Anthony Reynolds
2014 Child of Night John French
2014 Daemonology Chris Wraight
2014 The Seventh Serpent Graham McNeill
2014 Sins of the Father Andy Smillie


2007 The Dark King and The Lightning Tower Dan Abnett and Graham McNeill
2010 Raven’s Flight Gav Thorpe
2010 Garro: Oath of Moment James Swallow
2010 Garro: Legion of One James Swallow
2012 Butcher’s Nails Aaron Dembski-Bowden
2012 Grey Angel John French
2012 Burden of Duty James Swallow
2012 Garro: Sword of Truth James Swallow
2012 Warmaster John French
2012 Strike and Fade Guy Haley
2012 Veritas Ferrum David Annandale
2013 The Sigillite Chris Wraight
2013 Censure Nick Kyme
2013 Thief of Revelations Graham McNeill
2013 Khârn: The Eightfold Path Anthony Reynolds
2013 Lucius: The Eternal Blademaster Graham McNeill
2013 Cypher: Guardian of Order Gav Thorpe
2014 Hunter’s Moon Guy Haley
2014 Wolf’s Claw Chris Wraight
2014 Templar John French
2014 Garro: Shield of Lies James Swallow
2014 Master of the First Gav Thorpe
2014 The Long Night Aaron Dembski-Bowden
2014 The Herald of Sanguinius Andy Smillie

If you are a fan of science fiction, then the Horus Heresy novels are definitely worth reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *